Celebrating diversity and the young leaders in the Kentuckiana community is the foundation of the McDonald’s® Black History Makers of Tomorrow program. This marks the 16th annual event and the first timeMcDonald’s is awarding a dozen students college scholarships totaling $18,000. This program honors outstanding Kentuckiana high school seniors who demonstrate exceptional leadership, character, scholarship and community service.


“I’m proud to be a part of an organization that gives back to the community in an impactful way,” says local McDonald’s owner-operator Ira Salls. “We are dedicated to making sure education is accessible so that our community can strengthen together.”


This year, a dozen students were each given a $1,500 scholarship to the college of their choice and celebrated at a ceremony on Feb. 27 at the Kentucky Center for African American Heritage. Below are the winners that span the Kentuckiana region:


  • Teresia Buissereth, North Hardin High School in Radcliff, KY
  • Brandon Davis, Silver Creek High School in Sellersburg, IN
  • M’Kyia Davis, Barren County High School in Glasgow, KY
  • Alyssia Leach, duPont Manual High School in Louisville, KY
  • Trinity Olmstead, Ballard High School in Louisville, KY
  • Kendra Ray, Jeffersonville High School in Jeffersonville, IN
  • Allison Reed, South Oldham High School in Crestwood, KY
  • Gordon Rowe III, Ballard High School in Louisville, KY
  • Ragan Savage, Atherton High School in Louisville, KY
  • Jasmine Simmons, Eastern High School in New Pekin, IN
  • Jojo Spio, Jeffersonville High School in Jeffersonville, IN
  • Monique Williams, Glasgow High School in Glasgow, KY


“We had so many outstanding applicants this year that it was hard to narrow down the winners to just 10,” said Frank Ward, local McDonald’s owner-operator. “You can tell how much time the students spent based on the quality of their work. It wasn’t a hard decision to celebrate two more winners.” Since the program’s inception, local McDonald’s Restaurants of Kentuckiana owner-operators have honored more than 160 high school students and awarded $243,000 in scholarships.

More about: